Ten days to stop Jeremy Hunt: Day 2 – School cuts

Yesterday, I shared my thoughts  on the matter of truth regarding the NHS. Today, I’m sharing my thoughts on another important matter that I care deeply about – cuts to school funding. This is one of the things that I will campaign against if you choose me rather than Jeremy Hunt as your MP.

A few weeks ago I read about a primary school in Crowborough, just a few miles down the road from us, that was appealing for donations from parents. Nothing new there, so far. Maybe they wanted a new playground or books for the library…

I read on and was horrified. They were appealing for toilet rolls! Because of government cuts, they couldn’t afford to buy toilet rolls for the children.

Head teachers are facing massive cuts – with one Surrey head teacher writing an open letter to the Prime Minister saying that it’s forcing them to consider going to a four day week.

Perhaps the worst I heard was of some schools creating classes of 60-100 children in the school hall because they couldn’t afford enough teachers.

Non-core subjects are being reduced, narrowing the curriculum and depriving our children and young people of a broad and balanced education.

It is a false economy – children are our future and we should nurture and support them and give them the best possible education. If elected I would fight for education budgets to be increased and protected in real terms. I come from a family that has always valued education: both my parents were teachers. I have a track record as someone who prioritises education, not only in my work as a medical educator, teaching junior doctors, but also having successfully campaigned with other parents for a new secondary school when there were not enough school places.

I would also fight for proper funding for Sure Start and early years education, restoration of the Education Maintenance Grant  for 6th formers, the training bursary for student nurses and abolition of student fees so our young people are not burdened with years of debt. Education is a social good. It benefits us all and our economy to have a well educated population.

I see the school budget cuts in the same context as the cuts to the NHS – an erosion of our vital public services. Under Jeremy Hunt’s watch we’ve seen a serious deterioration in vital NHS services. I am standing against Jeremy Hunt because I want to help save the NHS and all our public services, including education. For you, your children, and grandchildren – for everyone.

 

Dr Louise Irvine

Vote for Dr Louise Irvine, National Health Action Party.

The candidate selected by Lib Dem, Labour and Green party members in South West Surrey to kick out Jeremy Hunt.

And if you want to help me protect your NHS from Jeremy Hunt, please contact us here. I’d be delighted to welcome you on board.

This entry was posted in Louise's Top Ten and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

