Here is @drmarielouise’s Opening Speech at this evening’s @farnhammaltings hustings

Here is a summary of Dr Louise Irvine’s opening speech for this evening’s hustings event at the Farnham Maltings.

Louise-IrvineGood evening. Thank you for inviting me to your hustings. My name is Louise Irvine.  I’ve been a GP for 26 years and I’m incredibly proud of the NHS. But I’m also angry. I’m angry about cuts, closures, and privatisation. About struggling A&Es and record waiting times. I feel the strain as a doctor. I know that people here are feeling it too.

I want to know that the NHS is safe. That it is properly funded and properly supported.

I also want better politics. More honest, more open and more representative.

I’ve met so many people here who care passionately about their community. About issues such as sustainable local development and care home closures. I want to help people harness that energy to make positive change. I have a track record of successful community campaigning and no party whip, so I can genuinely listen.

I want to offer the people of South West Surrey two things – the chance to send a clear message of support for the NHS, and the chance to vote for someone who will properly represent you on the issues you care about.

This entry was posted in Campaign Update and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

